Sign up for our newsletter


Spanish Grand Prix news

11 May 2009

Another win for Brawn GP and Jenson Button, while Lewis Hamilton suffers again


The successful run of Brawn and Button continues. Jenson picked up his fourth win out of five this season in the Spanish Grand Prix, with teammate Rubens Barrichello following in second. Red Bull’s Mark Webber completed the podium.

The win increases Button’s points total for the season to 41, extending his lead at the top of the drivers’ championship to 14 points ahead of Barrichello. The Brazilian had reason to be disappointed this weekend, having beaten Button off the line and consequently led the race until he hit problems, including a slow third stint, which he blamed on tyre issues.

There were also questions over race tactics, when Brawn changed Button from three pit stops to two, while Barrichello remained on a three-stop strategy. It has led to threats of quitting from the Rubens, who seemed to play second fiddle to Michael Schumacher while racing for Ferrari, when Brawn GP boss Ross Brawn was the Italians’ technical director.

‘If I get the slightest sniff of the fact that they have favoured Jenson, I will hang up my helmet tomorrow’, Barrichello told an American TV channel.

It was another less than successful race for the current world champion Lewis Hamilton, too. A spirited drive saw him come from 14th on the grid to finish ninth, but still out of the points.  He found it difficult to mask his disappointment with the McLaren MP4-24 car, too.

‘What can I say, what can I do, I drove my heart out as I always do and that car is just not good - I just had no grip,’ he said.

‘For sure at the moment, I don't have a car to win the championship. Everyone is wondering what's going on, but the car is that bad. I am driving the socks off it but... There's just no hope.’ .

The next race is in two weeks’ time on May 24, in Monaco – a race where Hamilton excelled last year.


1    Jenson Button        Brawn-Mercedes     
2    Rubens Barrichello    Brawn-Mercedes
3    Mark Webber        Red Bull-Renault
4    Sebastian Vettel    Red Bull-Renault
5    Fernando Alonso    Renault
6    Felipe Massa        Ferrari  
7    Nick Heidfeld        BMW Sauber
8    Nico Rosberg        Williams-Toyota

Read more about:

Experience the thrill of driving every month with evo magazine, devoted exclusively to the greatest performance cars in the world. If you're passionate about performance cars then evo is your ultimate monthly read.