Sign up for our newsletter


Monaco Grand Prix 2009

26 May 2009
Jenson Button Brawn GP Monaco

Button notches up another win in Monaco as Ferrari finally picks up the pace


Jenson Button raced from pole to podium at Monaco to take his fifth chequered flag of the season. The rejuvenated Brit is increasingly looking like the man to beat in the 2009 Drivers’ Championship, with another flawless race.

It’s his first win at the Formula 1 calendar’s most glamourous race, and he was clearly rather taken with the result – instead of pulling up by the podium, he parked in the pits and had to run in order to reach the end of race ceremony in time.

His teammate and nearest championship competitor Rubens Barrichello finished second, 7.6sec behind Button, while Sebastian Vettel retired after an accident. Ferrari had its best race of the campaign so far, with Räikkönen and Massa coming in third and fourth respectively to give hope to the Prancing Horse six races into what had been a fairly miserable season.

Lewis Hamilton finished 12th after starting from the back of the grid. His season is beginning to look lost, and he admitted he fancies Button’s chances at snatching the Drivers’ title from him – ‘Jenson's doing a fantastic job and clearly he's in the best position to win the championship. I'd definitely put my money on him’.

In other Formula 1 news, Williams has confirmed its 2010 Formula 1 championship entry. It’s the first team to do so, after protests over proposed team budget caps. After all F1 teams were threatening to pull out of the sport, it now looks like a compromise has been reached with the FIA.

Monaco Grand Prix results
1     Jenson Button        Brawn-Mercedes     1:40:44.282    
2     Rubens Barrichello     Brawn-Mercedes     +7.6 secs
3     Kimi Räikkönen     Ferrari             +13.4 secs
4     Felipe Massa         Ferrari             +15.1 secs
5     Mark Webber         RBR-Renault         +15.7 secs
6     Nico Rosberg        Williams-Toyota     +33.5 secs
7     Fernando Alonso     Renault         +37.8 secs
8     Sebastien Bourdais     STR-Ferrari         +63.1 secs

Drivers’ Championship standings
1     Jenson Button      Brawn-Mercedes      51 points
2     Rubens Barrichello     Brawn-Mercedes     35
3     Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull-Renault     23
4     Mark Webber          Red Bull-Renault     19.5
5     Jarno Trulli          Toyota         14.5
6     Timo Glock          Toyota         12
7     Fernando Alonso     Renault         11
8     Kimi Raikkonen     Ferrari             9
9     Lewis Hamilton     McLaren-Mercedes     9
10   Felipe Massa          Ferrari             8

Read more about:

Experience the thrill of driving every month with evo magazine, devoted exclusively to the greatest performance cars in the world. If you're passionate about performance cars then evo is your ultimate monthly read.